WRHA Board Members

Dr. Jerry Gray

Dr. Jerry Gray - Board Chair

Dean Emeritus and Senior Scholar, the I.H. Asper School of Business, University of Manitoba

Management consultant specializing in strategic planning and organizational development

Chair and director of various private sector and non-profit organizations

Myrle Ballard

Dr. Myrle Ballard

Myrle is a Research Associate and Instructor at the Natural Resources Institute, University of Manitoba. She is passionate and an advocate about health and environmental issues. She has a PhD in natural resources and environmental management (flooding, sustainable livelihoods, Anishinaabe knowledge systems).

Major Joanne Biggs

Major Joanne Biggs

Retired Officer in Salvation Army:  Social Services Administration  and Chaplaincy

Member of Brandon University Board of Governors
Associate Supervisor with Canadian Association for Spiritual Care (CASC)

Sessional instructor at Booth University College

Elaine Bishop

Ms. Elaine Bishop

Executive Director of the North Point Douglas Women’s Centre and a resident of North Point Douglas

Over three decades in paid and volunteer positions with special attention to peace, non-violence and social justice work, human rights, women’s issues,  land justice and Aboriginal rights

Member of the Board of Directors of Mount Carmel Clinic

Sheila Carter

Ms. Sheila Carter

Seven years involvement in Metis population health as Assistant Director and currently Director of the Manitoba Metis Federation Health and wellness department

Nine years involvement in First Nations health programs and services, Health Canada, Medical Services Branch

Jeff Cook

Mr. Jeff Cook

Occupational Therapist with experience in both publicly and privately funded agencies

Chair of the Canadian Cancer Society - MB Division Board of Directors 

Volunteer with multiple community club sports teams 

Joan Dawkins

Ms. Joan Dawkins

Executive Director, Women's Health Clinic

Former Community Area Director for Downtown and Point Douglas, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority/Family Services & Housing

Three decades of paid and volunteer work in the community, with special interest in inner city issues, equality and human rights.

Tunji Fatoye

Dr. Tunji Fatoye

Family Physician, Kildonan Medical Centre

Family Practitioner in Oncology, CancerCare Manitoba

Hospital Family Physician seven Oaks General Hospital

Photo not available

Ms. Jennifer Faulder

Provincial Issues Management and Communications Officer, Addictions Foundation of Manitoba.

Has a diverse employment history ranging from working on the front lines with some of Manitoba's most vulnerable populations to advising senior decision-makers with the Province.

Verna Flett

Ms. Verna Flett

Verna was born and raised in Churchill, MB. Verna is a School Counsellor for the Duke of Marlborough School in Churchill and is also the Deputy Mayor with the Town of Churchill. Verna has served on the Board of the former Churchill RHA and is interested in the health care of the Churchill community and instilling a healthier lifestyle for the youth.

Robert Freedman

Mr. Robert Freedman

Former CEO, Jewish Federation of Winnipeg

Former board member St. Boniface General Hospital

Former Executive Director, Legal Aid Manitoba

Photo not available

Dr. Jean Friesen

Jean Friesen is an associate professor of History at the University of Manitoba. She was MLA for Wolseley from 1990-2003 and served in government as Minister for Intergovernmental Affairs and Deputy Premier from 1999-2003. She has recently served as Chair of the Manitoba Water Council and is a member of the Speakers' Bureau of the Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba.

Stuart Greenfield

Mr. Stuart Greenfield

Past Chair, Seven Oaks General Hospital

Board President, SMG Development

Past involvement in multi-cultural organizations including the Manitoba Intercultural Council and Folklorama

Reg Kliewer

Mr. Reg Kliewer

Senior Vice-President, Finance - Palliser Furniture

Chartered Accountant

Concordia Hospital Board member

Board member and past Board member of a number of other community organizations

Doris Koop

Ms. Doris Koop

Coordinator of the Vision Impaired Resource Network (VIRN).

Over twenty-five years working in paid and volunteer positions regarding accessibility and inclusion for people with disabilities. Also served on several Boards and committees through the years.

Coordinator of the Discover Curling program for people with disabilities with the Canadian Curling Association.

photo to come

Ms. Connie Krahenbil

Connie is the Community Wellness Liaison at the Churchill Health Centre, assuming this position in 2014 after moving back to Churchill in May 2013. Prior to that, Connie lived in Churchill from 1989 to 2000 when she worked at both the Churchill Health Centre and OmniTRAX Canada. While in Winnipeg, Connie worked primarily in mental health as the Employment Manager at Sara Riel Inc and as the Executive Director with the Canadian Mental Health Association. Connie has served on the Executive for a variety of special events and causes and was appointed to the Addictions Foundation of Manitoba Board of Directors in 2008.

Ms. Josée Lemoine

Ms. Josée Lemoine

President, Pivot Advisory Services

Executive Director, Francofonds Inc.

Vice President of Business Development, Encore Business Solutions

Manager of Advisory Services, Meyers Norris Penny

Member of various community boards

photo to come

Mr. Robert Leonard

Mayor of Arviat, Nunavut.

Rob Santos

Dr. Rob Santos

Associate Secretary to Healthy Child Committee of Cabinet
Government of Manitoba

Research Scientist, Manitoba Centre for Health Policy, and Assistant Professor, Department of Community Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, University of Manitoba

Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology (University of Manitoba), specializing in community psychology, child and adolescent development, mental health promotion and mental illness prevention, population health, and prevention science and policy

Mr. Craig Stahlke

Mr. Craig Stahlke

Secretary-Treasurer of Pembina Trails School Division

Certified Management Accountant

Former member of the Victoria Hospital Board

Bruce Thompson

Mr. Bruce Thompson

Worked in the Employee Benefits field for over 35 years in Manitoba.

The last 21 years as the Sales Manager with Manitoba Blue Cross

Was a member of the River Heights/Fort Garry Community Health Advisory Committee and intends to continue helping the WRHA as a Board member

Bookmark Email Print Share this on Facebook SHARE Share this on Twitter Tweet RSS Feeds RSS
Make text smaller Make text bigger
Search this Site

Wait Times
View the current approximate wait times at Emergency Departments in the Winnipeg Health Region.

View wait times
Contact Us
Do you have any comments or concerns?

Click here to contact us
Find Services
Looking for health services in Winnipeg?

Call Health Links-Info Sante at 788-8200

Search the Health Services Directory

Explore alternatives to emergency departments at MyRightCare.ca

Find a Doctor
Wave Magazine
The January / February 2015 issue of Wave, Winnipeg's health and wellness magazine, is now available online.

Read more
Health Connection Winnipeg is your monthly electronic source for health related news and information from the Winnipeg Health Region.

Subscribe now
The Winnipeg Health Region has a variety of career opportunities to suit your unique goals and needs.

Visit our Careers site
WRHA Logo Help | Site Map | Terms of Use | Contact Us | En français